Metacognitive Awareness Inventory

  • Due Aug 30, 2018 at 11:59pm
  • Points 1
  • Questions 52
  • Time Limit None


The Metacognitive Awareness Inventory is an instrument designed to assess general self-regulated learning skills across the disciplines. Developed by Schraw and Dennison (1994), it has 52 items that are classified by type of cognitive knowledge: declarative (DK), procedural (PK), and conditional (CK); or by specific metacognitive process: planning (P), information management strategies (IMS), monitoring (M), debugging strategies (DS), and evaluation (E).

Here is a scoring guide for the MAI also available at the Hartford Community College website.

Additional resources: